So, the title may be a bit confusing, so I should clarify.

A buddy of mine and I want to start writing music. As a guitarist, I'd say I'm pretty well off, I can't do anything Yngwie yet, but I'm striving for that goal. Basically, the songs were writing I hear in my head having some speedy solos. I might be able to accomplish the fast sound with some tapping and legato, but alternate picking has always been my Achilles heal. It's not NEARLY as bad as it was before, and now (after coming off a hiatus thanks to medical issues) I'm trying to finally fix it.

How would you go about writing songs that you want to have fast solos, but can quite do it yet? Would you find different means to accomplish a different goal? Or wait on writing music?

I hope this isn't too confusing. Thanks for any input you may have!
It'd be good to have any idea of roughly how far off you are right now. You could be anywhere between a few months of routine practice to polish off your already refined skills, or you could be over 10 years away..

If you're that keen on creating an Yngwie-esque band you better find like minded musicians, because a lot of musicians don't want to be the background musicians of a guitar wank fest and live in the shadow of your supposed glory.

As for writing solos you can't play though, you're best off writing those solos in your head. It might sound ridiculous, but sing the solos with your mouth and then record yourself mimicking said solo with your mouth. Once you've done that then slow down the solo and tab it in Guitar Pro. Once it's tabbed in Guitar Pro then you can set it to whatever speed you want and hear how it will roughly sound without having to play a single note yourself.