Hej guys.

I'm mostly self-taught and been playing for approximately 6-8 months. Right now I'm learning with Youtube Guitar Lessons and able to play most Jimi Hendrix songs, so you know what my ''skill cap'' is. It made fun to learn songs that you wouldn't be able to play spontaneously, and I made big steps of progress, but now, I don't know what I should play to achieve progress.

Also, I'm not able to transcribe songs because I don't know how to start with ear training. That's a huge problem for me because till now, I was learning songs via youtube lessons, and it is a horrible feeling if you don't find the song you want to play!

So I would be glad if someone has advices on:
1. What other enjoyable songs there are,
2. How I start with ear training if I'm an absolute beginner in ear training.

Samy
Last edited by samy5301 at Feb 10, 2017,
Try this...

Play along with a song in a special way that is all about teaching to hear harmony using the music as a question and your ear as the source of an answer, communicated through your fingers, and then evaluated by the judgement of the ear. Sounds complicated but it is easy.

During the first chord of the progression find any note on the guitar that sounds good. When the progression shifts to the next chord, decide if the note you have is going to sound OK or not by hearing it in your head. If so, stay; if not, decide if you need to move one or two frets up (or down) and hear if you were right. Keep going as the chords change.

You can start off going just up or just down on one string and picking just one new note for each chord change. You may be surprised how easy this is, even when hearing a new song for the first time. After you get good results going up and down on one string, one note of each chord change...

- go up or down for each chord change
- try making two new note changes per chord, later more
- include two adjacent strings, later more
- increase the fret span from 1 or 2 to 3 and then 4, maybe more