Hey everyone,

Firstly, I want to say that I'm not sure if this is the correct area to post this, but I feel like it matches the best. Anyways, I've been playing guitar for like 7-8 years now (both electric and acoustic). When I first started, I took like 4 lessons, and then just started learning things on my own. Although, for a while I've felt like I've been pretty stagnant. So, I started expanding my playing into other genres and learning a lot of the technical stuff that I skipped, as well as some new techniques.

I'm finding two potential problems, that I'm wondering if anyone can offer some advice on. The first has to do with strengthening my fretting hand (as in, the skin). When I first started (up until relatively recently), I took guitar playing as a very casual thing. So, I'd play for a little bit here and a little bit there, sometimes with weeks in between (depending on how busy I was), and sometimes for just a short moment (once again, depending on how busy I was). In my mind, then, it made sense why my hand wasn't very strong. I wasn't playing frequently enough, I thought. Except, within the past 6 months or so (maybe more) I've been making an effort to play a lot more, and for longer periods of time. The issue I'm having is, my hand isn't strengthening. It's not that big of a deal, overall, but it can cause issues when I'm playing (like not being able to hear a note clearly), which is bothering me.