That wont break my pockets. I have a couple of guitars that I used regularly so I'd like something that isn't 30 dollars a set. I tend to leave me guitars on a 7 guitar rack and being a broke college student I generally just buy ernie ball slinkys 9 gauge. I put a set on my Gibson SG and after just a few days, maybe a week I notice some rust on them. I live in Cali so the weather here is usually pretty hot and tends to be a little more dry than humid.

On the other hand, I bought a used guitar which was freshly restrung a while back and I don't know what strings they used, but these didn't rust? Are slinkies just bad?

I'm considering elixir nanowebs but I'm not too sure. "strings that wont rust" may sound stupid but I am just looking for something that will last me at least a month for the guitars a keep at home. The slinkies sure didn't
if you clean the strings after you play..they will last much longer..I use a micro-fiber cloth - a small dollop of rubbing alcohol on a corner of the cloth.. wrap the cloth around each string .then dry each one..it removes the sweat and oil from your fingers and built up dirt..which causes that rough pitted feel on the strings if you don't clean them..and rust becomes the end result of string decay...
play well

wolf
Last edited by wolflen at Feb 10, 2017,
I use Elixers. Granted they cost a bit more than your run of the mill string sets, yet not anywhere near the 30 a set the OP was worried about, and seem to last MUCH longer before going dead.
New set of Elixers feel like butter on your fingers, and also will last quite a while. For the extra cost over a normal string set, IMO it's worth it to spend a bit more, and it evens out as they tend to last longer b4 going dead.
ESP LTD James Hetfield Signature Vulture-Satin Black
ESP LTD James Hetfield Signature Snakebyte-Snow White
ESP LTD James Hetfield Signature Iron Cross-Snow White
Jackson Pro Series Soloist SL2Q Trans Root Beer Quilt
Jackson SLATXMQ Soloist3-6-Trans Red Quilt