I'm writing a song and the lead melody is being played in the top octave of the guitar - and unfortunately its sounding pretty thin. Does anyone have any tips on how to thicken up the tone? I'm running a somewhat hi gain lead w/ reverb to add some smoothness.

I'm going to try doubling the part (maybe panning them +-30) and/or try adding some chorus, maybe even try doubling it 8vb and blending it in the background.

Would love some ideas to try! Thanks!
All kinds of effects can "thicken" your tone. Reverb is one, but OD, Distortion, Fuzz, Delay, Echo, Rotary, Vibe, Octave and Chorus can do so as well. Which to use- and how much- depends on your precise tonal target.

I think it was Tom Scholz of Boston who used to split his signal* and have the second signal tuned 25 cents off.

* or use 2 guitars playing the exact same stuff.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by dannyalcatraz

* or use 2 guitars playing the exact same stuff.

i would do that, and try using a compressor in the end of the mix for your tracks.
An EQ would be really helpfull to give every instrument the right space in the mix..
Give your self the time to be a Beginner... because no one started as a Professional.
What guitar/amp?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie