Hi all,

I've been playing acoustic guitar for about 4 years now and all I did was learn songs with tabs/chords. I feel like I should know the music theory behind the music I am playinh, and I am willing to start learning music theory. Now, I did do some research and I am overwhelmed by all the information. Does anyone know where I should start?

Thanks!
I'm gonna say start studying how chord progressions work because that often ties in with other theory too, plus then you start making your own songs and analysing other artists' songs.
-
'Determining Chord Progressions'. This is a start I guess dude. Other people will be able to answer this better than be but from my own person experience, chordal music theory is so sick.
Learn about intervals ... they are physical sounds ... they pervade all music ... scales and chords are built from them. Melodies are built with them. A scale is a specific pattern of intervals .. and some patterns set up musical expectations. Learn about these. Intervals are trivial to learn, especially the common ones. You can know their hand shapes in probably a few days, spending 5-10 minutes a day.

Separately, if you want to learn some fascinating stuff, check out some books on music psychology. For example, "Sweet anticpation" by Huron. There's some very innate stuff built into us, humans, as relates to music ... and if music goes against the expectations too much, or gets to random, too abstract, the brain just shuts off, ignores it, responds badly emotionally. This is something a lot of people forget, ignore, or don't know (maybe don't care). If you want music to connect, this stuff has to be borne in mind. Rhythm and structure in time play a huge role here.
Last edited by jerrykramskoy at Feb 13, 2017,
Quote by garnalensaus3
Hi all,