Hi guys! Greetings from Spain! I have a doubt that you may solve.

I´ve owned a JCM 800 2203 Reissue for 7 years, and I´m getting tired of it. It does sound great, but...too much time for me. I have the chance to trade it for a Mesa Boogie Mark IV head, from a guy in a city far from mine. If I travel to his city, we can test the amps and interchange them if we both agree, no money difference paid. I´ve never heard a Mark IV in person, but I´ve heard some demos and it seems to sound great. I have no further knowledge about the amp, and I´ve read that it has lots of controls and knobs. This particular amp looks physically like brand new.

Could you please tell me what I must look for in order to be sure the amp is in good condition?

Thanks a lot for your time!
I grew up playing amps like the JCM 800. A few years ago I tried out a Mesa Mark, but couldn't get it to sound anything like the tone I like. From my understanding those amps require a lot of tweaking, especially with he EQ, to get a Marshall type tone out of them.

I personally don't like amps that require a lot of tweaking, so I passed on the Mark. If you don't mind tweaking then it might work out for you (many people like them).
www.facebook.com/yourbadinfluence