So here is the premise. i have been a drummer for 7 years, a guitarist for 4, and i just picked up the bass 2 weeks ago.
I've been practicing every day between 1-3 hours depending on time constraints, and I just started to notice some serious improvement to my technique.
I played a jam for a peer just yesterday night, and was told by said peer that i was great for 2 weeks in, and with practice id be an excellent bassist in a few months. That made me feel great and so as you can imagine i was excited to practice again today. Well, This morning i picked my bass guitar back up, played through my exercise checklist like usual, and after about 30 minutes i decided to try and jam over a drum track for a bit. Now all of the sudden im feeling significantly weaker in skill than i did JUST LAST NIGHT!!! im terrified that iv'e done something seriously detrimental to my learning, i am extremely motivated to create a solo album (not really relevant, except it is) and if i cannot learn to play the bass well this is going to be a huge barrier for me, has anyone else ever experienced such a sharp drop in their skill level overnight? Frankly its extremely frustrating, and save for some neurological issue i cannot think of a single reason this should be happening to me... PLEASE HELP
you've been playing for 2 weeks. i've had rashes longer than that.
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Right, but im already an expirienced musician. And have never expirienced a similar phenomenon before this.
Quote by Cjfwinning
And have never expirienced a similar phenomenon before this.

That's what I tell all the girls.

It's pretty normal to run into a plateau or even drop back a few steps as you're learning something new.
Besides, you're a drummer. You're not expected to walk and breathe at the same time.