I've tried many brands of strings, every single one breaks at the same spot. The bridge. Right where the string lays.
I've polished the saddles. That didn't work. Strings keep breaking. I've changed the saddles. Same issue.
My guitar is an Ibanez GAX30, I already tried different brands, Ernie Ball, Fender, Gibson, Dean Markley, D'Addario etc, and different gauges. I started playing with the lightest set I played , 0.009, and then keep getting thicker. Now I play with 11 or 12 and strings keep breaking. The last one was the E one, the thickest, from a 12-54 string set.
I mostly play on standard tune or D tuning, usually Doom Metal riffs or Punk, I don't really shred or anything like that. Just the usual power chords.
I already tried different picks too. I noticed that strings broke more during the hot summer, I bought a set and 24hours later a string was already broke. Now, it usually takes 2 weeks to get a string broke (playing at least one hour per day).
If anyone has any idea how I can resolve this problem, I'd really really appreciated. I'm getting desperate and this can demotivate anyone.
Please don't say to change to bass...
Last edited by dia_d6 at Feb 13, 2017,
I'd suggest getting a few lessons... the issue isn't the strings or the guitar. Sounds like you're beating your guitar harder than your wang.
'16 Gibson LP Standard T, '95 Fender MIM Strat
Helix Rack, Jetcity JCA50H w/ JCA24s+
DirtFarmer
I wish that was the issue. I shared this problem with few other guitarists that beat the strings way harder than me, and nobody knows the problem. My stroke is normal, sometimes the strings break with just one tiny touch.
PSimonR
I usually play close to the neck pickup. My strokes aren't that hard! yes, I could enthusiasm myself during some moments and hit the strings hard but they are supposed to resist right?