Hey guys, I've been wanting to upgrade the gawdawful Sheffield speaker in my 1 X 12 cab for a long time now, and finally have it in my budget to upgrade. To clarify, it is a pretty large 1 X 12 closed back cab I made from my Peavey 6505+ 112 after converting that amp into a head. I normally use my 412 cab with all of my heads at home and more serious performances, but would like to start using the 112 cab a bit more. I am a school teacher and play for the kids from time to time and don't relish taking my 412 back and forth from home to school and recitals, as it weighs over 100 pounds, lol.

The amp I'll be using with this cab most often is a Peavey Classic 30 head. For that amp, my primary concern is good clean tones and a nice rock crunch tone. However, I kind of want this cab to be able to handle my 120 watt 6505 head, so I'm kind of leaning toward high-wattage speakers. In my 412 I've got Eminence Swamp Thangs and Governors in an X-pattern, and that combo SLAYS for metal and hard rock. However, I'd like something a bit different in my 112 combo, for variety's sake.

Will I be doing the Classic 30 a disservice by running such a high-wattage speaker like the Eminence V12? Or would it be better to run a lower wattage speaker with that amp? It does sound very nice through my 412, but maybe the tone could improve with the right speaker.

How does the Legend V12 compare to the other two speakers I have (Governor and Swamp Thang)? What attracts me to the Legend is the price is right ($65), and I'm pretty sure it will be a huge improvement over the Sheffield currently installed in the cab. Thanks for your time!

Here's a link to the speaker I'm looking at:
Atmospheric dark metal w/ black and death metal influences:
(My Soundcloud page):

Pestilential Flood
The V12 is going to be most similar to your Emi Governor. Even then, it's different. Smoother, more balanced, bigger low-end.