Hey guys!

First of all, I apologize to everybody if this topic was covered before, but I have a very specific problem that I need help with. I’ve been playing guitar for 7+ years (on and off) so you could say that I am an intermediate player. Now, I’m serious about fixing all the mistakes that I didn’t at the beginning.. so please help!

Anyway, my problem is with correct usage all 4 of my fretting (left) hand fingers! Specifically, with playing 1-2-4 combination on any string in any position (1=Index, 2=Middle, 4=Pinky finger). I just can’t do it correctly.

When I do that combination, let’s say low E starting at 1st fret, my ring finger (3) keeps curling back inside towards the guitar neck and most of the times gently touches some of the strings below. When I try to do a cross-over 2-4 all hell breaks loose. My pinky just won’t listen and moving it is like moving a ton of bricks leaving me with awkward and tightening feeling in my left hand. All of this I am doing without any tempo, slowly as possible, for the correct finger movement but still my problem persists.
Fingers are curled, only finger tips are touching the strings, approx. 90 deg. angle to the neck.

After a couple of minutes of these slow 1-2-4 combinations, a situation gets a little bit better, but still I can feel the tension is there. Not to mention that tomorrow when I start practice again, left hand seems like it has forgotten about the practice day before. Multiply this by 4 weeks that I’m trying to do it correctly, and you’ll get the level of my frustration.

The funny thing is that combination 1-3-4 I can do without any of these awkward feelings, slowly but correctly, any position and any string! Simply put, the connection between my middle and pinky finger is somehow weak, and ring finger makes the situation even worse.