I'm still a beginner in the theory aspect of playing. I was playing slayer dead skin mask earlier and was having trouble finding out what key it's in. How would you be able to tell? Sometimes I feel like they don't stay in key maybe??
justinbrillo
E minor (technically Eb minor as they're tuned a 1/2 step down). Basically in this case you tell because the riffs are based off of the low open E. But you're right, Slayer use a lot of "out of key" notes, most particularly the flat 2nd and flat 5th (tritone), but also other notes, chromatic stuff, and basically any note they feel like to make things sound as dissonant as possible.
NSpen1 Yea thats why i was confused about i thought e minor but some of the notes weren't in the scale. So this is ok to do when making music?
justinbrillo, no hard-set rules to music; theory just describes what happens!

If anything "rules", it's the ear. If it sounds good, then it's fair game. It doesn't have to be within a chord or a scale; it just needs to connect notes together in an aurally pleasing fashion.

Things to check out:
http://www.musictheory.net/lessons/53
I attached a midi version of a song most people know, but there are only chord tones inside. I'd challenge you to describe what it sounds like without the non-chord tones!
Attachments:
holey jesus.mid
You find the key by finding the tonic, i.e., the note/chord that sounds like home. It doesn't really matter that much what the other notes are. You could use all of the 12 notes and still make one of them sound like home. Here is a great example of this: