Okay so I started playing a year ago,I didnt have a teacher or anything,I just used youtube and google. Learned the basic chords,barre chords and beginner stuff. A few months ago I fell in love with fingerstyle but I started practicing only like a week ago or so. My right hand has the feel for picking and with practice I think it will be just fine,the problem lies in my left hand. Its so used to the basic chord shapes that it feels impossible to go out of the box and play strings individually and change them fast enough. Are there any excercises that focus on this problem to make the left hand more fluid? I was thinking of learning scales,even got the basic major scale pattern down but I dont know if that will help. Any advice would be much appreciated.
It'll be the same old advice. You have to get good at changing chords at really slow speeds (e.g. around 1 chord change every 2 beats at 40 bpm). You have to watch really carefully what each finger is doing, and "plan a route" from one chord to the next with minimum finger motion.
Tension tension and more tension. Tension slows you down.

Play so fucking slow you think time will stop. Simply change from chord to chord (or whatever you are stuck on) but move your fingers as if you are watching them in slow motion. REALLY slow motion. You will notice that this is fucking hard to do. Your fingers will shake/tremor and move involuntarily. They will want to fly away from the fretboard. They will want to move together. The amount of concentration required is pretty high. Keep at it until it's smooth and effortless and then bring up the speed slowly. Imagine your fingers are performing ballet or yoga. Slow slow slow. I can't stress how slowly you need to do this. Ever seen those slow motion 1000fps videos of a balloon popping or something? Yeah, that fucking slow!