Page 1 of 2
Hi guys! Long time no post. I used to be a regular builder here, but life happened over the last 6 or 7 years, and I no longer have access to a shop. I've always wanted to get back to it though, so I have a few projects lined up that I can still manage without "proper" equipment, and I'll be posting those as time allows.

First up is a heavy mod to a Squire strat, hence the quotes on "making". This project basically exists because I want an Yngwie Malmsteen signature strat but don't have the money, so I'll be getting this done as quickly and cheaply as possible. I live in Chicago and we've got a warm snap for a few days with temperatures up in the 60s, which will give me a chance to shoot lacquer etc. outdoors, so I'll be tearing through this pretty fast over the next few days.

I'll be:
- Scalloping, re-carving, and coloring/staining/refinishing the neck
- Re-contouring the neck joint and possibly the right arm of the body
- Refinishing the body
- Replacing the pickups with Dimarzio HS-3/4
- Light colorization/aging to the plastic components

After doing guitar building/modifying the "right" way for years I've realized you can kinda do whatever you want as long as you're not an idiot, so some of the materials/techniques I'll be using I wouldn't necessarily recommend to others, but am fine doing myself because I don't care. I'm starting with a $220 guitar, about $110 in pickups, and maybe $30 finishing materials. I'll probably get it PLEK'd later this summer, so for about $500 total I'll have a guitar that has arguably better fretwork/playability than a from-factory Malmsteen strat due to the PLEK, sounds 95% similar plugged-in due to pickups, is a color I actually like, and has a neck joint that feels better and allows better access. YMMV

Here goes!

Dissembled:

The body will be shot in whatever you want to call this shade of blue:

Taping:

Ready for surgery:

First blood: