Hey guys so I have been playing guitar for 5 years and I am a sloppy guitarist and I don't think I am too bad at it. I can play some complex solos and stuff. I play mostly Megadeth and Metallica stuff. I know 2 scales and I found a trick to find all the notes on the fretboard. But my guitar teacher always used to say don't play parrot fashioned. That's what I been doing like I know some arpeggios and that. I also don't learn songs by ear because I am too lazy I use guitar pro and any notes that I think don't sound right I fix it up.

One thing I found out I suck at improvising like if I want to make a solo I am always accidently inspired my kirk Hammet and plays the same crap he does. Like in the key of e using the scale forgot what is is think its the minor.

Do you guys recommend moving away from heavy metal for a bit and discover new genres? I'm not too bad at blues making up stuff but in my eyes ends up been repetitive.

I do have alot of time just been focused on other stuff but what should I do?
Last edited by Dialupp at Feb 19, 2017,
The problem isn't that you need to play different genres. The real problem is that you lack the self-discipline to learn how to play the guitar properly.

Take up some lessons and stick with them. The internet is an endless source of lessons on how to improve yourself as a guitarist and a musician. The problem everybody has is finding the motivation to follow them for any length of time. Look at justinguitar.com.
Roses are red
Violets are blue
Omae wa mou
Shindeiru

Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
I would say try some different genres get out of the rut you are in. Do some Hawaiian Slack key or Flamenco. Different genres make you approach the instrument in a new way and you can let it influence your playing otherwise. The knowledge base for guitars is a lot wider than metal .