So I want to get an epiphone les paul custom pro because of the versatile sounds the pickup coil split options offer.

I've seen some from various years from 2000 all the way up to 2015 sold online. Aside from the year they were made, is there much difference in the year model I go for? Should I ideally go for a older or newer one?

From what I can tell, les pauls seem to hold their value well, seeing as the old ones aren't that much less than newer ones. So am I better off grabbing an older one, or put a little extra in and get a newer model?

Thanks
Last edited by wasey_khan at Feb 19, 2017,
What genres & tones are you searching for? Budget? Other gear? New vs used? General location? Open to internet shopping?

Open to non-Gibson, non-LP guitars?
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
dannyalcatraz Sorry, i had to edit my post as I accidentally submitted before finishing it lol.

I already have a few non les pauls, and 1 les paul (MKH-7),
The older Korean-made Epiphones are holding their value because of the preconceived notion that Korean-made guitars are better quality than Chinese ones. But the Epiphones made back then weren't the quality guitars that everybody knows Korean-made guitars to be now. They were very inconsistently made, even by Epiphone's standards. One thing they're unflatteringly infamous for was the fact that so many of them had their tuners installed on the headstock crooked, and many of the sunburst finishes on the LP-standards of that time looked awful - Often they're called Clownbursts. For reasons readily apparent in this pic: