Hi there,
im an amateur musician who try to create music at his home-studio. Im 24 years old though and still dont know that much about it(composing). i can play ok, pop songs and solos are easy, but not shred the guitar like steve vai or some metalhead. Dont know much more than the pentatonics with blue note, but ill keep studying and training.
i think im too old to learn this stuff though
wonder if im ever gonna be a pro. knowing much more about music and shredding the guitar, or this it, im at my best right now.
ps: im good in math
should dedicate myself to math and forget music??
will i ever get much better than this??
any opinions??
If you played a sport that you loved, you'd get out and play with other players. Whether it is baseball, football, basketball, you know where I'm going. That's the only way you know if your skill and talent is good enough to keep going or just resign yourself to the occasional backyard game with some friends. I think the same is true with being a musician. You have to play with others to find out what you need to move on and get better. Get out and play with other musicians to test your skills, get inspired and and learn to interact with others players and singers. You'll find new influences playing things you didn't pick for yourself and learn so much more. Just my two cents worth of opinion. As Joe Walsh said the goal is not to become a legend in your own garage or bedroom.
Yes I am guitarded also, nice to meet you.
Last edited by Rickholly74 at Feb 20, 2017,
This is a great site to help with songwriting http://www.secretsofsongwriting.com

Don't worry about shredding. You'd probably never use it in real life and other than guitar players no one likes it. Wonder what the drummer and bassist is thinking when your playing your 10 minute solo? I call it Guitarst music. It's a phase a lot of players go thought when they are young but normally grow out of it.
(Adding a bit here and there can be great thought)