Hey guys,I finally made an account on here so I can ask this question.Im trying to learn this song Puddle by chon and this one is a tough one.Ive been playing for five years now and I've never really attempted to learn anything that requires me to play this fast.Ive been practicing the first sweep on the song for three weeks now at an agonizingly slow tempo and while I've gotten a little faster I still can't play it up to speed.How am I going to learn the rest of the song if I can't even play that?

Here's the song
Last edited by tborden001 at Feb 20, 2017,
Your fingers are always dependent on your ears to direct them what to do...

Speed of playing comes from time on the instrument, no so much by trying to play faster... it comes naturally as you learn to hear faster and more complex music. Pushing your speed of playing beyond what you can hear and grasp is a musical mistake.

Think about it... what happens when you play faster than you can hear? What happens is that your quality control for what you play is gone; you can't judge how well you are playing it if it is so fast and/or complicated that you can't grasp it with your ear... you are "playing deaf".

In the long run, your fingers will eventually play very fast, so what is important now is to learn to conceptually grasp what you hear and play. That just comes with time and learning lots of different kinds of music to give the ear as wide an exposure to music, slow, fast, simple, complex.
Quote by reverb66
I'm pretty sure the Bible requires that you play through a tube amp in Texas.
tborden001 Try to play with a metronome at slow speed and when you can play passage without mistakes, try it on a little faster tempo, and step by step you will get to the desired speed.