Poll: Are Seven Strings with 25"5 scale fine?
Poll Options
View poll results: Are Seven Strings with 25"5 scale fine?
1. Yes they are.
7 100%
2. Not really, baritones are better.
0 0%
Voters: 7.
I have been playing seven not for a long time, since 2012, before i used to be classical guitar player, played a little bit regular 6 electric string too. What i am asking about is the intonation, i can understand that 8 string 27" scale is necessary thing to be, but do really 7 String need more than 25"5 ? I have had a Schecter hellraiser C 7 with 26"5 scale. Guitar sounded a little brighter on B or A tuning, much Brighter on G#/g and lower compared to my ESP or Ibby. I have sold that schcter due to heavy weight and fat neck, got instead Ibanez rg 7421Pb sbf. However i couldnt find big difference when tuned to B and A tuning as i said. Mostly i have been using a Peavey 6505 and string with 60-64 for B and 68-72 for A.

So the question is, is 25'5 scale lenght enought for B standard and A standard tunning ? (for G# and lower use longer ones? )
I would personally prefer a 7 to have a slightly longer scale length than 25.5 as you don't need quite so heavy strings to tune up to the same tuning.

It's fine for most people though. If it was drastically worse than any other scale length, then they probably wouldn't be as popular as they are.
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I also have to do that. Cottaging this weekend
Thanks for reply, i actually switched from 26'5 to 25'5 but reason is i preffer Ibanez over Schecter . Tunning down to A standard is fine i guess on 25"5 ;p ?
I have both a 26.5" and a 25.5" 7 string, the longer one is better for riffing, the shorter one is better for soloing, at least for me.
My Gear:
Ibanez Jet King 2
Ibanez RGDIX7 MPB
Ibanez GRG 7221
OLP John Petrucci
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro
Squier Stratocaster (modified)
Harley Benton CLD-41S (Acoustic)

Peavey Vypyr 30.

Boss CH-1 Super Chorus
Boss DD-3 Digital Delay