I've been playing electric guitar for 3 years now, and I'm starting to get an understanding of what I want in tone, and I have started exploring gear more in depth.

I currently have (all second-hand):

Jackson JS30WR 2004 (Bought $40 2 years ago from awesome friend)
  • Alder Body
  • Maple Fretboard
  • Jackson CVR2 Humbucker Pickups
  • 24 Frets
  • Hard Tail Bridge (No Tremolo)
  • Changed the jack input once in the last years, and this year the luthier told me the jack will fail soon enough.

VOX AD50VT Combo Amp (Bought $200 3 years ago)
  • Tube Powered Pre-Amp
  • Digital Amp (the company describes it as hybrid)
  • Tons of fun presets, amp emulators, fx (delay, flanger, chorus, etc.)

Pedals (Bought for $100, $70, $30, and $50 respectively end of last year)
  • MXR Smart Gate
  • MXR Fullbore Metal
  • Joyo Vintage Overdrive
  • Dunlop Headphone Amp (very useful for practicing anywhere)

I love all kinds of metal, but I have a preference for melodic death metal, northern, post/prog-hardcore and djent-ish genres. I find my tone to be very crunchy, fat, and chuggish (perfect for good old trash metal), but I prefer more modern tight/sharp tones. Think of the bands Earthside, Testament (Brotherhood of the Snake album), Amon Amarth, Wintersun, Parkway Drive, and YouTubers Ola Engund, Jared Dines, Leo Moracchioli.

What am I looking for?
  • Any body style really. Since I already have an aggressive looking Jackson, I can settle with a more conservative looking guitar. I find Diamond Guitar's Barchetta and Chapman's Ghost Fret to be god damn arousing;
  • Neck profile: I need to experiment, I've only owned a JS Dinky in the past and the JS30WR;
  • Pickup config: Humbuckers, of course. From YouTube videos and some tracks, I concluded I like EMGs in general, Seymour Duncan's Blackout Neck, Invader Bridge, Black Winter Bridge, Bare Kuckle Painkiller, Dimarzio D-Activator X;
  • In case of a new guitar, I'd like a tremolo bridge;
  • Minimum 24 Frets;