Hi All

Ok please bare in mind I am a total newbie to amps so I really need some help on sorting out a valve problem.

I noticed the drive channel wasn't as loud as usual and then there was a hum, a burning smell and now it plays quietly but crackly so I am guessing this is a blown valve, would I be right in thinking this?

If so then which valve will it be that I need to buy a replacement for and if its one of the bigger ones should I be able to replace it myself?

Also when buying replacements are there cheap and expensive makes of valves? I am skint so can't afford to pay loads so if anyone can recommend a shop that sells them reasonably priced that would also be awesome.

Many Thanks in advance if you can help guys!
Looking at the amp from the back, the drive channel position should be the tube 2nd from the right. However if you have had the amp a while/it has the stock tubes, I would go ahead and replace the tube set. You need 3 12AX7's (also called ECC83), and 2 6L6 tubes. The 12AX7's are the small ones, the 6L6 are the big ones.

There are more expensive brands/models of new production tubes but their influence on the sound is often minimal and their construction does not last much longer- many of the more expensive tubes are not really worth the price. I would just buy JJ's throughout the amp. I buy from TubeDepot.com. Maybe buy a Tungsol for V1 (the tube closest to the right) if you would like a touch more brightness from the amp. If you want to buy NOS (never used tubes, but made a long time ago, "new old stock") then you will likely notice changes that are more noticeable and they will also last quite a while- but they can be fairly pricey.