So Ive been playing electric for over 20 years now, over those years I've played mostly rock, hard rock etc, on several guitars to experience different sounds. I've recently bought my first acoustic (got a hummingbird) and now I'm looking for some nice easy, recognizable acoustic songs that I can learn. Any ideas?
Quote by dazm
So Ive been playing electric for over 20 years now, over those years I've played mostly rock, hard rock etc, on several guitars to experience different sounds. I've recently bought my first acoustic (got a hummingbird) and now I'm looking for some nice easy, recognizable acoustic songs that I can learn. Any ideas?

There are a wealth of early Who, Beatles, and Rolling Stones songs which were either recorded using acoustics, (certainly with an acoustic as guitar #1), or translate very well to acoustic songs.

The Who, "Substitute", practically all of "Tommy" particularly "Pinball Wizard". Later, "Behind Blue Eyes".

The Beatles, "Norwegian Wood", along with most of their early material. "Blackbird" seems to be popular, although I don't play it. The 12 string "You've got to Hide Your Love Away", is easy, and has a very singable, well under an octave melody.

The Rolling Stones
, Brian Jones was very into acoustic instrumentation. Some gems from his collaborations, "Play With Fire", "Lady Jane", "Get off My Cloud" is fun if you're going to sing it. Later on, some of the songs from their "Beggar's Banquet" album work acoustically. Please don't forget, "Dead Flowers", from "Sticky Fingers", along with, "Honky Tonk Woman", which they also do an acoustic version, "Country Honk". Another true classic of theirs would be "Wild Horses", superb!

Jackson Browne's catalog has plenty of opportunities.

The Byrds interpretations of Bob Dylan's "Chimes of Freedom", "My Back Pages", and Mr. Tambourine Man", along with "Turn, Turn, Turn", all work on acoustic.. (I'm thoroughly sick and tired of, "Blowing on the Wind".).