Guys, my strings are way too hard, while not even being tuned to standard. I'm completely new to guitars, can someone help me out?
I'm afraid that if I try to tune them upto pitch, they may break.
Last edited by coolhammas at Mar 1, 2017,
What gauge strings are you using on what guitar?
My Gear:
Ibanez Jet King 2
Ibanez RGDIX7 MPB
Ibanez GRG 7221
OLP John Petrucci
Epiphone Les Paul Custom Pro
Squier Stratocaster (modified)
Harley Benton CLD-41S (Acoustic)

Peavey Vypyr 30.

Boss CH-1 Super Chorus
Boss DD-3 Digital Delay
Boss FRV-1 '63 Fender Reverb
First, go to a guitar store and try the other guitars and see how stiff they are by comparison.

Second, make sure that you're not trying to tune your strings to the next highest octave (yup, they'll break).

Third, take N1ghtmar3C1n3ma 's advice and double check what gauge strings you've put on your guitar. If you start with .009's (they might say 942 or .009-.042, etc.), you should have fairly compliant strings to work with.

You should expect that the strings will hurt your finger tips for a while. As you play more, you'll develop callouses on those finger tips and they won't seem so "hard."
I have .010's
BC Rich Bich with a normal bridge
Ernie Ball Slim top heavy bottom

BTW, the strings would get too hard without even tuning up to pitch, like my low E is tuned to C, but as hard as a standard tuned one would be.
Last edited by coolhammas at Mar 1, 2017,
First, if you're new to guitars, drop down a gauge to plain old 9's. Don't listen to some salesman who will sell you heavy bottoms because he thinks it's way more metal.
Second, bring ALL of the strings up close to pitch (bottom ones first) and then finish them off (low to high). Then evaluate them.

And third -- have fun with the Bich. I have a 10-string sitting in storage that dates to 1981 that Neal Moser insists he recognizes.
dspellman
I'd like to go with the same strings, are any adjustments in the saddle required?