Hello i am just a 16 years old kid and i want to start to learn the guitar.But i have never even seen a guitar in real life so i searched for a month or so and found that i really like the Les Paul style of guitar so i went to the guitar site that has Epiphone guitars in my country (no one else sells Les Paul guitars in my country) and found this really affordable Slash AFD Les Paul and since i like Slash (btw. Ace Frehley is the BEST!<3) i want to buy it.But i have to travel 300 km to the store so i cant just go in and try it out whenever i want to and see for myself.So if anyone has the guitar pack with or without the amp i just would like to know things like does it work,is the action too high,does it have tuning problems.... and basically if you were happy with it and will it be good for a total noob who want to learn the guitar. Ty for all your answers <3
I haven't tried that particular beginner pack.
Here are all the bad things I know about LP-style guitars:
  1. They can be heavy. It's a chunk of mahogany glued to a baseball bat.
  2. They have clunky neck heels. If you're playing high on the neck, the palm of your hand can and will run into a 90 degree corner of guitar body.
  3. They can easily go out of tune. The headstock design pulls the strings back and off to one side as soon as they leave the nut, and you'll often find strings hanging up in the nut after a bend, etc.

The good news?
  1. That small, dense, heavy body is partly responsible for the sustain that attracted players to it in the first place.
  2. People somehow manage to learn to play leads on LPs despite the clunky neck heel, and there ARE LP-style guitars out there that have smooth neck heels.
  3. If you know what can make them go out of tune, you can figure out how to make them stay in tune.