I'm not trying to do it myself, but I'm wondering how you mask the lack of skill with distortion and delay. I've heard people complain about this combination being toxic, but I don't completely understand it. Also, for those that do think it masks skill, how can you identify someone doing it?
Just a teenage girl who loves playing guitar way too much, if that's even possible.

I live for my girlfriend. <3
Well...

Don't misunderstand me- I love & respect The Edge's talent, but that's a classic example of HOW you'd use those effects to conceal your talent/discipline deficit.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Quote by gogiregion
I'm not trying to do it myself, but I'm wondering how you mask the lack of skill with distortion and delay. I've heard people complain about this combination being toxic, but I don't completely understand it. Also, for those that do think it masks skill, how can you identify someone doing it?

well it comes under the heading of you'll know it when you hear it. not so much an issue with pro bands as beginners. distortion gives you sustain or at least sounds like it does. to much distortion turns individual notes to mush and they tend to blend. this can sound fast and not let you hear poorly played notes as well as a cleaner signal would. same goes for delay you can set it up for repeats so although you play one note it may have 3-4 repeats so again makes it sound faster than it really is. playing notes fast and clean is something that takes time to develop as cleanly played notes will show mistakes or poor technique. heap on gobs of distortion and you don't hear them as clearly. 
Quote by dannyalcatraz
Well...

Don't misunderstand me- I love & respect The Edge's talent, but that's a classic example of HOW you'd use those effects to conceal your talent/discipline deficit.