my amp is making an AM station hiss. what could cause this. my pre and post gain are turned down to 0. I unplugged my foot switch and it stopped but it was a coincidence. it started getting more and more distorted then woosh here comes the hiss.
Possibly a preamp tube going bad.  How old are the tubes in there?  

For what it's worth my 5150 always had a background hiss to it - had to put a noise gate in the loop.  
Guitars:
Jackson Kelly KE3 - MIJ (Distortion/Jazz)
Jackson DKMGT Dinky (EMG 81/85)
ESP E-II Eclipse Custom (JB/'59)
ESP LTD EC-1001FR (EMG 81/60)
Fender MIM Strat

Amps:
Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster 212
Laney IronHeart IRT-Studio
Peavey Vypyr 30
Peavey ReValver Amp Sims
TOOOO many T.C. Electronic Pedals. . .
I'm by no means an expert on this, but isn't poor shielding in the cables a typical cause of this. Have you tried using a different lead?
Where I rehearse there's a problem with power in the building. Mesa amps for exmple (and only Mesa for that matter) pick up a latino radio statio. 
Putting a noise gate on it fixes it. Interestingly enough - Marshall amps don't pick up that station, they just pick up noise.
With the amount of gain these amps produce, some degree of hiss just comes with the territory. But you need to give us more information.

What kind of guitar are you using and is it internally shielded? Are you sure you don't have any ground loops? Does using the effects loop affect the amount of hiss you're getting?

Turning down the pre and post gain to zero and still getting hum doesn't make any sense. How can the speakers generate hum if you're not powering them?
Quote by TheSennaj
And well yes, I'll enjoy the carpal tunnel and tendonitis, because trying to get one is clearly smarter than any word you have spoken thus far.
Quote by diabolical
Where I rehearse there's a problem with power in the building. Mesa amps for exmple (and only Mesa for that matter) pick up a latino radio statio.