Hey guys! Hope all is well. So, I've been playing guitar for 5-6 years now and it's really quickly become something I love to do and think I want to invest in. I currently have a MiM fender strat which is okay, and a Fender frontman 25R amp, but to be honest, in terms of tone, it just isn't the best to me. I had heard good things about MiM, but mine is super quick to fall out of tune, and even after a professional setup is not as full sounding as I'd imagine on the high notes, they just don't sustain at all. If I make some trade ins and scrape together some cash, I think I could operate on a ~$1200 budget to get a nice setup that I enjoy practicing on and to use for fun recording with friends.

Influences/tastes/most appreciated tones :
-Mateus Asato - great guitarist (potentially looking at a wet reverb pedal! Those things sound amazing to me!)
-John Mayer - I could listen to his Live in LA solos for ages
-SRV "Lenny" type tones- one of my all time favorite clean tones

I know it's not the biggest budget in the world, but I value what you all have to say, so, if you could recommend a guitar, and an amp that sounds nice, with maybe a pedal or two, I would really appreciate it! I'm not a gigging guitarist by any means, I sometimes fill in at a local church though so I value a lot of pretty, clean-ish tones with maybe some very low gain stuff, but I also like John Mayers blues-ier style as well. I like PRS and Fender a lot, definitely can't afford a Suhr like Mateus. :/

Thanks so much guys I look forward to what you've got to say!
I would focus on the amp right now. That amp is your weakest spot at the moment. With a $1200 budget you could get a new amp and guitar.
Gibson LP traditional and DC standard, PRS S2 Custom 24, MIA Standard Strat, Schecter Banshee 7
EVH 5153, Orange TV50H 2-2x12's
Line 6 M13
Quote by bobafettacheese
I would focus on the amp right now. That amp is your weakest spot at the moment. With a $1200 budget you could get a new amp and guitar.