Hi all,

I'm not an expert in theory and I usually write and learn music using my ears. Lately I've taken an interest in learning more about time signatures and odd meters so I've started tabbing out things I've written so I have a visual representation of what is going on.

I was just curious what time signature a progression like the one below would fall into - I apologize if this isn't enough to go off of to give me a definitive answer.

e----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
b----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
g---x-x-x-x-x----x-x-x-x-x-x-x--------x-x-x-x-x----x-x-x-x-x-x-x----------
d---x-x-x-x-x----x-x-x-x-x-x-x--------x-x-x-x-x----x-x-x-x-x-x-x----------
a---x-x-x-x-x----x-x-x-x-x-x-x--------x-x-x-x-x----x-x-x-x-x-x-x----------
e----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In that scenario the strumming is 8th notes.

My "guess" is that because I have a group of 5 and a group of 7 which adds to 12 that I'm in 3/4 time or is it 6/8 because it's a quicker pace.

Anyways total newb to this but was hoping to get a little insight into things.

Thanks!
Last edited by hoonin_hooligan at Mar 10, 2017,
It really could be anything; without aural or absolute rhythmic information, I'd actually break it into 4/4

1 e + a 2 e + a 3 e + a 4 e + a | 1 e + a 2 e + a 3 e + a 4 e + a |
x x x x x   x x x x x x x       | x x x x x   x x x x x x x       |

x's correspond to your x's, divided 4/4 into 16th notes

Tab is notoriously bad at giving information; if you want more help, you can give us a song to listen to
I can tell you what you're doing, but the best way to find out for yourself is to slow down a lot and find the smallest subdivision of beats in what you're playing

D D U D U U D D U D U | D D D U D U U D D U D U |

NeoMvsEu Ah ok so it 4/4 just with the "beat" falling in a different place in the second measure?