I'm having this frustrating issue when using the daw Reaper. Lets say I have a drum track playing as a backing track, and I start playing/ recording with my guitar along with the drums. I hear what i'm playing ON time. but when I play back the recording, my guitar recording is off time.

How can I fix this?

I'm pretty new to DAWs. I'm not running the best laptop, but it has decent specs. My audio interface isn't the best either, and I have been planning to upgrade it. But for the moment my gear seems usable for recording...So why am I getting these problems?

Are there any settings to make this problem go away??

My interface is a tascam us-100. Using asio4all drivers. The laptop specs are

intel core i7-2620m @ 2.70ghz
16gm ram. but only 8 usable
windows 7 64 bit

Any help would be appreciated big time...
Assuming Reaper default settings for what you can see...

Work out what the delay is from the time scale at the top of the recording view, add it to the latency accommodation number XXmS on the very top line of Reaper.

Then go to Options, Preferences, Audio, Recording and at the bottom of the page you will see where you can un-click use audio interface reported latency and put in your own numbers that you have just worked out.

Alternativly can you not get the proper driver for your interface?
Last edited by PSimonR at Mar 11, 2017,
ASIO4All is what you want for that device, the high latency is likely due to having a USB interface plus having your buffer size set too high. You can change this in Reaper's preferences.

Generally you want around 128-256 for tracking and live-monitoring with plugins (64 is better but not attainable typically on pro-sumer gear), and 512-1024 for mixing and playback.
Any reason why you're not using the Tascam factory drivers?

There are two things that could be happening - the software could be putting your audio behind in time or you could be really playing behind in time due to reported latency and don't realize it.