Poll: Combo or Head/Stack
Poll Options
View poll results: Combo or Head/Stack
Combo
0 0%
Head/Stack
1 100%
Voters: 1.
So I've been playing for about 6 months now and am improving but hate the sound of my cheap starter combo amp it has a lack of settings and the overdrive button doesn't get that metal tone I want. I'm also looking to start a band soon. I don't know whether I should fork out more on another combo (like a a THR10X, Blackstar) or if I should get something more versatile like a micro terror head and a small 1x8 cabinet so it's good for bedroom playing but if I need to practise or go to gigs I can upgrade the cabinet. Also should I invest in a distortion pedal.
95% Guitar player. 5% Piano player
Playing guitar 1 year
Grade 3/8 - Aiming for grade 6 by next August
Metal, Prog, Jazz, and Math Rock.

Guitars:
Ibanez SZ320 - Drop C -Black,
Jackson Misha HT7 - Standard - also Black,

Amp:
Ironheart IRT Studio 15w Head (I like black),
Ironheart 2x12 Cab (once you go black).
What is your budget and what kind of music are you going to be playing? We can't really answer much until we know those 2.
Also, if you're looking for versatility then a micro terror is not the way to go. It doesn't have a proper EQ. It is literally just 3 knobs. Not to discredit the amp, but if versatility is what you're after then you're looking in the wrong place. If you want versatility you'll need to be more specific. How do you want it to be versatile, what different things do you want to do? Ultimately the pinnacle of versatility is a multi-effects unit, and they can be cheap or they can be damn expensive. It just depends how versatile you need to be. Chances are you wont need a multi-effects.