Well Im a little embarassed to even be typing this because I am a somewhat experienced guitarist and songwriter, but I guess it happens to the best of us.

For the most part, I used to play punk, alternative, grunge, and metal music. Within the past year though, I came to the realization that those genres weren't my real calling.

I really started diving head deep into late 70s, and 80s music. Some examples would be Isley Brothers, Chic, Billy Ocean, early Michael Jackson, Hall and Oates, etc. I also really enjoy The Police and Tears for Fears.

I love this style of music and its definitely what I want to play. But when I sit down to play, I find myself playing the same Maj7 and Min7 chords over and over. The chord progressions just dont seem to intrigue me. However, I strive to find some way to keep this going, which leads me here.

What are some tips, tricks or techniques to get out of this slump? How does one keep things interesting and inspiring, especially in a genre where everything already seems to have been done by someone else? Any help would be appreciated. Cheers!
listen to more music 
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Besides this:
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/news/features/overcoming_guitarists_block.html

I'll add something I learned from cooking: sometimes, try to create something without using your favorite ingredients. I have created several dishes that step 1 of the process was taking all of the seasonings in the pantry I'd normally use with the main ingredient and consciously setting them aside.

In your case, deliberately eliminate the Maj7 & Min7 chords that have become tired to you. This will require focus and attention to your playing like you probably haven't used since your first year of playing, because it will be sooooooo easy to relax and resort to those "crutch chords" again.