Hello all. Hoping for some guidance here. I'm GASing hard for a real tube amp. I've been using a Fender Mustang IV for about a year now. It's fine, but no substitute for real valve tone. I'm just a home/bedroom guitarist, so I don't need a full head/cab setup. I just want to go DI into my computer for playing and recording. My problem is that I use a lot of stereo delay/reverb effect pedals and want to keep that stereo sweetness when I record. I can't seem to find a real tube amp that has a stereo fx loop, so I'm looking for a way around that barrier.

Right now I'm looking at the Hughes & Kettner Tubemeister Deluxe 20 and Grandmeister Deluxe 36. They both have an XLR cab modeled DI out. 

I'm trying to figure out if I can go out of the head that way, into the 1/4" mono input on one of my stereo pedals, through the whole stereo pedal chain, and then stereo L/R into my audio interface without sapping all the power and goodness out of the tube amp tone. 

I tried this with my current amp, a Fender Mustang modeler. It worked, but most of the high end vanished. Then I realized the XLR to 1/4" adapter I used was actually a mic impedance transformer. I'm figuring that must be what hosed the amp tone, but the thing is... I have no idea what I'm doing. So I thought I'd ask some folks who probably do.  

If I was to use a simple XLR to 1/4" adapter with this same setup, would I be likely to get unhosed amp tone through the pedals and into the interface? Any other reasons why this kind of setup wouldn't work or isn't worth the expense? Don't want to drop $700-$1200 on that amp to end up with mushy nonsense in my monitors.

Thanks for indulging my know-nothing-ness on this!

Well, you'd be negating the tube power section which might or might not be a big deal, depends what you're trying to do with the tube amp.
I'd imagine you're probably doing some ambient U2 type of stuff, so it might not be a deal breaker.