Hey everyone. As title mentions I am a complete rookie. I have never played the guitar before in my life, which I however do plan to change sometime this month.
Currently I have set my sights on the Epiphone Hummingbird after a long time of perusing google, although I do have a few problems. 
I do not have access to a shop that has the Hummingbird, as the ones who do have it are at the other end of the country. I am buying the guitar online for this reason - and also because it is cheaper online. 
This means I do not have the option to try it before buying it, which I understand is (potentially) a big no-no. Should I instead look for other guitars that I'll actually be able to try out beforehand? 
Thanks in advance!
Ideally you should try the guitar you are going to buy.

Since you are an absolute beginner, I recommend that you go to a local store and try a variety of different guitars that are of the style you think you are interested in. That way, you can get an idea for what you like, since you don't have the experience or knowledge to really know what you're looking for. 

Play a wide variety of types within your price range (and even outside of it) to build that baseline feeling for what you want. 
My God, it's full of stars!
Buying online can be OK if you have some experience, but as Dreadnought says, a beginner is far better off going out and trying as many as he/she can, including some that you can't afford. Remember that feel and playability are mostly a function of set up these days, and that can be easily fixed in most cases. In any event, be sure to budget for a set up, because I don't think that there is anything more discouraging for a beginner than a guitar that is difficult to play.

What attracted you to the Hummingbird? Anything more than looks?
Quote by bordiga