Hi!
I currently have a Roland Cube 20GX and I am planning to upgrade my amp.
I went to a store and tried 2 amps ie

1) Peavey Vypyr VIP 2
2) Laney Ironheart 15H (Tube Amp)

I was told by many of my friends to go for a tube amp but honestly I noticed a very minimal difference and that was'nt worth the extra cash and hassles. Now dont get me wrong, I am just a beginner and maybe my ears are'nt developed enough to hear the differences.

Just want some suggestions on whether is it worth to go for a tube amp?

PS: I mostly play metal and my current guitar is an Esp Ltd Ec 256 (Looking to upgrade the pups If I get the tube amp)
Last edited by cyruseternity at Mar 19, 2017,
cyruseternity if you choose Peavey Vypyr that not upgrade , that only switching brand.. Becasue it also digital amps, same as your Roland cube that will not bring lots differences ...
Try a Blackstar HT-1.  
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6
Phonic 620 Power Pod PA
Wampler Super Plextortion
Line 6 Pod HD
When I first started I was the same way.  I started with whatever cheap guitar and amp I could get.  
Years later I bought a Marshall tube combo amp and said to myself "I wish I bought this earlier"

of the two you mentioned I'd go with the Laney.  
I prefer nothing less than a 12" speaker.  I find most 10" speakers to lack low end.    

Last edited by Gosss at Mar 19, 2017,
Quote by Gosss

of the two you mentioned I'd go with the Laney.  
I prefer nothing less than a 12" speaker.  I find most 10" speakers to lack low end.    

Meh. It's not the size of the speaker that determines low end. Too many guitarists listen with their eyes.