Hey all.  Just got this Douglas WVEB bass and for the most part, it's a fantastic bass for the money.  However, maybe it's just 'cause I'm new to the violin bass scene, but the pickups are confusing me.  One of them is way lower output than the other, contributing nearly none of the low end or punch when the more powerful pickup is turned down.  

Is it a defective pickup?  I'm not even certain which pot controls which pickup; intuitively, I'd think the top pot would control the neck pickup, and the lower pot control the bridge, but I'd expect the neck pickup to be the one delivering the low end and if so, that isn't the case.

Just wanted some ideas before I take a crack at the wiring or anything, thanks!

hard to tell from your pictures, but how close is the neck pickup to the strings?
Quote by Kevätuhri
Hail isn't too edgy for posts, posts are not edgy enough for Hail.

Quote by UseYourThumb
You win. I'm done here.
Quote by Hail
hard to tell from your pictures, but how close is the neck pickup to the strings?

They're both roughly the same distance from the strings, about as close as you can get without magnetic interference messing with anything.
With a lot of basses - and I don't mean just the inexpensive ones - there is a tremendous difference in output between the neck and bridge pickups.  It is a sad state of affairs, but it is true.  This is why a great many people switch out the pickups as soon as they get their bass.  This could be the problem.
"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
Quote by FatalGear41
With a lot of basses - and I don't mean just the inexpensive ones - there is a tremendous difference in output between the neck and bridge pickups.  It is a sad state of affairs, but it is true.  This is why a great many people switch out the pickups as soon as they get their bass.  This could be the problem.