I have a strat I love - but about a year ago I got an HSS pick-guard from a friend loaded - So I put it put it on my strat and am learning to play - love it.

I have been told that having the Humbucker on the bridge changes the sound - and I think this is correct.

I think I liked it better with 3 single coils. I think I had more range because the Humbucker is so strong it overpowers the sound - love the grind but its all grind if I crank up any added distortion.

This is what I have - Strat 1990's era

NECK - Dimarzio Area 58 - DP 415
MIDDLE - Seymour Duncan Classic Stack STK 54
BRIDGE - Seymour Duncan Custom Custom Humbucker

Question is this - since I am new to guitar - - - 

Can I split the coils on the Humbucker, add a switch,  and get back to an original sound? Or will is still not be in balance?

OR - Do I need to get a Dimarzio or Seymour Duncan single coil bridge and scrap the Humbucker all together.

I am reading conflicting things - some say the split coil Humbucker will still be out of balance.

Thanks for your experienced advice - 

Attachments:
FAT STRAT.pdf
When I was younger I bought a fat strat. Whish I bought a SSS strat. If you want a hunbucker get a LP to compliment the strat.
I have a Music Man Steve Morse, which has 2 humbuckers that can be split and 2 single coils. If you pair the pickups right you won't have any issues. You can definitely split the 'bucker and see if you like it. It could be done with a push pull pot or by adding an extra switch. I'd probably opt for the push/pull pot as it won't require modifications to the guitar.
Custom Custom seems to be a bit hotter than what I'd pair with single coils but Dave Murray uses it so it should pair well. How about lowering that pickup further away from the strings and trying the split coil to see if it will do it?