Hi guys,

Before I go into details, I'm new here, so please direct me to a specific thread relating to this if there is one. Thanks.

So, I was given this guitar by a mate who moved overseas. He purchased it in Australia in about 2009. It's a Jackson made in Japan. Various searches of their catalogues, stores and serial number database turn up nothing and I'm only new to guitars, so I don't know where to go from here. According to him, the pick-ups were changed to EMG 81/85 after the purchase, but the stock ones were a similar style (almost identical in appearance).

Here's a picture:
http://imgur.com/a/RjA94

If there's any more information I can provide, please don't hesitate to ask. And if someone could help me, I would be very thankful.

Cheers.
Looks like any old JS.
Originally Posted by evening_crow
Quoting yourself is cool.

WARNING: I kill threads.
Looks like a DXMG to me, I used to have one. They originally came with EMG HZ pickups, so the bloke who gave it to you was pretty much spot on about them being (well, in appearance anyway) similar. Lovely neck as I recall, but there was something about it that meant I never really got along with playing mine, so I chopped it in against a new amp.
Charvel Wild Card #6
'89 USA Standard Strat
'89 Jap Heavy Metal Strat (HSS)
Tokai Breezysound
'08 Gibson SG Special Faded
Squier Bass VI
 find a serial number, or model number. it's usually written on the back of the headstock. take a picture of it, maybe some one here can help out.
Last edited by jedigovnaUG at Mar 22, 2017,
My_Login_Name I'm going to say it's a DXMG as well that has had the EMGHZ's swapped out for active EMG's.