I was wondering what advantage of disadvantages some of the modern non-Floyd tremolos- Kahlers, etc.- might have. No budget involved, just idle speculation over potential future mods or custom builds.

I don't have many tremolos, and only one is a Floyd. All the others are vintage-style Wilkinsons, Bigsbys, or similar.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
No spring cavity rout. The rout for a Kahler is about 3/4" (give or take), top only. You can select from a pretty good variety of saddle materials. You can lock down the hybrid ones and use them like a hard tail, then unlock them and use them like a trem. Takes a few seconds to make the switch. They're lower profile than a standard Floyd and you don't snag the side of your hand on the fine tuners the way you do the Floyd. You can also get different springs for the cam if you don't like the "feel" of the Kahler. I've got a couple of old (late '80's) and some new Kahlers. They feel different from Floyds, but I've made the transition pretty easily back and forth. 
The old Kahler licensed floyds were garbage, stupidly soft metal. To add insult to injury, they also didn't use standard OFR mount post size/location so I can't even swap in anything else without a ton of work in my old HM Strat
Fleet of MiJ Ibanez
Couple of Balls
Peavey & EVH Wolfgangs
Eclipse
Fender HM Strat
Kemper KPA
5150 III 50w & cabs
You should check what people are putting on premium custom guitars - Pettrucci, Guthrie Govan etc. That would give you some ideas. C

I have a vintage style Wilkinson on my Musicman Silhouette Special - it's fantastic. 
Oh, I do. Believe me, I've been looking at Rick Toone's site for years now.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Quote by DarthV