Alright y'all, I come seeking advice.

My local GC has a used Gretsch Electromatic G5622T, which is pretty gnarly. Meanwhile the boutique shop in the area has a sweet 1960s vintage Silvertone Stratotone. I'm just trying to gauge some opinions on what y'all would go with.

I have Strat, Tele, and LP style guitars so I'm trying to fill in that old school single coil/P90ish hole in my collection. I've also been into the Dan Auerbach/Jack White fuzzed out garage blues sound recently and I know Dan has used old Silvertones, while Jack has used Gretsch. So what do y'all think?
Without seeing both to evaluate condition, I'd err on the side of newer, and buy the Gretsch.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Well, you can certainly cover "fuzzed out garage blues"  with any axe you already own.  If you NEED a new guitar and want the better player, get the Gretsch.  The Silvertone has a nice retro vibe but they were not great players at first.  Kinda like the Fender Mustang or Melody maker.  Basically it was a student guitar a few steps down from a Tele or Strat of the day. 
"Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It's the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use." -- Stevie Ray Vaughan

"Anybody can play. The note is only 20 percent. The attitude of the motherfucker who plays it is 80 percent." -- Miles Davis

Guthrie on tone: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zmohdG9lLqY