Greetings, 

I'm looking to possibly upgrade my guitar, I own an Epiphone Les Paul. I love it. I think it sounds fantastic, but I'm still learning (took a ten year break). I'm focusing my playing on improvisation/lead getting around the fretboard quickly. I've gone to guitar center and played a few different types of guitars I'm amazed at how thin the guitar necks felt compared to my Les Paul.  It's tempting me to get something with a thinner neck. What are your thoughts on this? Is having that fatter neck hurting? helping? Is it worth getting something new? My budget is most likely no more than $600.

Thanks for any feedback!
Quote by Will Lane
Get your Epi properly set up ($60ish USD) and see if you still feel the same way.

Sorry bit of a noob, but can you tell me what properly setup entails? I had it setup at the shop I bought it from back in 2002. So I guess its been a while.
Quote by streetbl
Sorry bit of a noob, but can you tell me what properly setup entails? I had it setup at the shop I bought it from back in 2002. So I guess its been a while.
2002? Yes that is quite a while. A setup does a few things, you could look at it as making it play optimally. They adjust string height, get the neck straight, adjust intonation, etc.
Quote by Will Lane
2002? Yes that is quite a while. A setup does a few things, you could look at it as making it play optimally. They adjust string height, get the neck straight, adjust intonation, etc.

I suppose I'll do that. Thanks, should i go do it myself, or local shop or guitar center? Guitar center scares me! I don't know a whole lot about Amps, but I did some research and went in to go buy one and the sales people were telling me all kinds of thing that were completely incorrect. Glad I did some research. 
yes get your guitar set up first...
but there's nothing wrong with a thin neck. i love thin necks.
Prs se Holcomb is the answer
Start with a good setup.  That alone can change everything.