Hey guys, this is my first time on the forums and i'm looking for some advice. I recently purchased an Epiphone G-400 SG and i would love to purchase some new pickups for it, i was looking into some Seymour Duncan P-Rails. I'm trying to get a 90's grunge rock sound and was recommended these on their website. I also was looking into coil tapping, the G-400 pro comes with it and I wanted to know if i could customize my pickups with that configuration. any help or advise would be welcome and appreciated so thanks in advance! 
P-Rails are sort of the ultimate in coil tapping, except that there are TWO coils that can be left active. One is a P90 coil and the other is a rail coil single coil. It's also possible to run the two coils together either as a standard humbucker (serial wiring) or wired in parallel (still humbucking, but a bit thinner in sound). 

Ask SD about their Triple Shot pickup rings. These have switching for the P-Rails built in, and you can select all options for each pickup from there. 
Thanks for the reply, didn't know about the triple shot pickup rings, it exactly what I'm looking for! 

Edit: On doing some research people say the material is kinda shoddy, is a push/pull pot a viable option? 
Last edited by chriscuellar81 at Apr 1, 2017,
Check out their diagrams when you choose which pickups you'll buy. http://www.seymourduncan.com/wiring-diagrams

I just installed some Seymour Duncans with a push pull tone knob for coil splitting. I was going to add in a second push pull in the volume for phase switching but got lazy. They have tons of wiring options
Quote by chriscuellar81
Thanks for the reply, didn't know about the triple shot pickup rings, it exactly what I'm looking for! 

Edit: On doing some research people say the material is kinda shoddy, is a push/pull pot a viable option? 

Not really. Consider that there are four possible positions for each pickup.