As the title says, is there such a thing as a stable job in music?

I recently had a bit of an epiphany and realised that life is too short to be stuck in a job that you're not passionate about, or at least enjoy. I'm an Engineer, and I know I'm good at it and could very easily make a good, successful career out of it, however its just making me miserable.

I've always been passionate about music (unsurprising given my presence on a music forum) and would love a career in this industry, however too many of the jobs don't really have that guaranteed income, which is a must for me given I have a mortgage and a family.

So, has anyone here made a successful career in the music industry? Are there jobs out there that have that guaranteed salary/income and the traditional 9-5 Mon-Fri?
Quote by Monolith295
Tobysaurus is one sexy man.

Quote by Kensai
I think I love you Tobysaurus!

Quote by CFH82
God damn, you've given me a boner Toby!
There are jobs out there, but very very few that have a) guaranteed income and b) 9-5 schedule. I actually can't think of a single job in the music industry that fits those criteria, other than being someone who is right at the top of the ladder and as such can choose when they work. Freelancing, being in a band or being a session musician for example don't fit your criteria.

You will likely need to do something part time to begin with regardless of what it is. You aren't going to walk into a full-time job in the music industry without putting in the effort. 
I imagine there are. Horses enjoy music too.
Quote by Rebel Scum
god fuckin damn it

being some sort of academic with tenure?
Quote by EndTheRapture51
who pays five hundred fucking dollars for a burger
Quote by tobysaurus
As the title says, is there such a thing as a stable job in music?