Hi, this is my first post so be gentle with me! I’m currently suffering from a bit of a crisis of confidence with my guitar playing and I was hoping someone here could help snap me out of it. I have been playing for about 20 years and played with various bands over that time but always as a way of backing myself singing. I would describe my rhythm playing as barely adequate and my lead playing as non-existent. This is difficult to write but it has to be done. Currently, I’m not sure I ever want to pick up my guitar ever again. I’m tired of trying to convince myself that what I’m doing isn’t as shit as it actually is. I’m tired of being utterly mediocre and of people barely tolerating me. I know I’m shit and I can’t be bothered to lie to myself anymore and pretend otherwise.  

The last gig I did was probably the worst I’d ever done. I accepted the invitation to play a solo gig 24 hours earlier and with very little preparation it went horribly. My voice was out of tune; I just couldn’t hit any of the notes I went for. My guitar playing has always been terrible. I knew that, but that night it descended the depths of awfulness to hit a new low. I flat out sucked. Strangely rather than be embarrassed, I felt liberated. I wondered why I bothered to put myself through all this bullshit and hassle. Why I bothered to open myself to the criticism of strangers when I suddenly realised, “Hey I don’t have to do any of this! I can just stop!” So I am seriously considering it.   

Even the thought of playing makes me feel depressed and angry. I get frustrated because I want to be better than I am. But at this late stage in the game I know I’ve reached the limits of my talent, and it turns out the bar is really fucking low. I hear music and I have plenty of songs in my head that if I could be bothered I could get down. But then I think, “Why? Why bother busting your arse writing songs that are just going to be shit and no one will give a fuck about anyway?”