For an A5 humbucker, I like my Seymour Duncan '59n pickup, but the more I listen to vintage voiced pickups made with A3s and A4s, etc, the more sterile I've found it. But my guitar is an SG, a notoriously dark guitar. I'm calling on all-mahogany guitar players, based on your experience have you found that A3 and/or A4s are muddy or do you find they work just as well as in brighter guitars?
Last edited by andersondb7 at Apr 8, 2017,
I can't answer your question directly, but if you're looking for a brighter vintage guitar tone, TV Jones might be your ticket to happiness.

Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
first i will admit that I am not a magnet buff.

but magnets are just part of the equation when it comes to pickups. Number of windings is one thing, gauge of the wire, pole pieces, and even covers all add up regarding how the pickup will sound.

Could you tell us more specifically what you were looking for and what amp you're running it into?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie
---> http://trashedengineering.blogspot.com/
Quote by trashedlostfdup
first i will admit that I am not a magnet buff.