I recently picked up a Vox Pathfinder 10 amp and a Boss DS-1 and it doesnt sound all that good. I am fairly new to guitar playing so I dont really know what to do to get it to sound better. Any help would be greatly appreciated. 
What type of distortion tone are you trying to get?

Unfortunately there's a fair chance the answer is, "You need to buy more expensive, more suitable, gear."

The pathfinder is actually pretty nice for getting a voxy sound on the cheap, and the ds1 can sound decent for certain things with certain amps, but there's a fair chance that neither the pedal nor the amp is really what you need.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
twistshadow9 The Pathfinder's SS nature will not react properly to the OD signal from the DS-1. Using a tube amp instead will likely get you better results. However, if you are trying to get metal levels of gain out of the Pathfinder, you have the wrong kind of amp entirely. I would only use an amp like the Pathfinder for clean to crunch levels of distortion. Until you could get some more suitable equipment, I would try to use just the Pathfinder, and save the DS-1 use for when you snag a proper tube amp.
Dave_Mc I am wanting to get a tone like what they have in Metallica songs.