When strumming muted strings, I'm getting more of a high-pitched metallic sound. How can I get a cleaner muted sound (such as in the main riff in Can't Stop by RHCP or Smells Like Teen Spirit). More gain seems to help but I can't quite get there. I'm a new player, so it could be my technique. 

I'm using a Fender Stratocaster and a Fender Champion 20 amp

Thanks!
It probably is more your technique than your gear.

Thread was moved to forum: Guitar Techniques
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
It sounds like you might be putting a little too much pressure on the strings you're muting with your fretting hand. It doesn't take much pressure at all from your fretting hand to dampen the strings enough to perform the technique, just enough to stop the strings from vibrating.

For instance, to get that signature "chicka chicka" in Teen Spirit you'll actually want a lighter touch, probably with both your fret hand that's muting the strings and your pick hand - as too strong and tense of an approach with your picking hand during strings mutes like these can start to make your "chicka chicka" sound a little "chugga chugga", especially if your tone is perhaps a little too thick on the bottom.