As a guitarist I know we get caught up on learning scales, licks and what not but I wanted to know if a basic chord progression or strumming pattern sounds good to you is it good or what?
it would be in my book. the true test is whether others think it's good as well. 
It is if you have good taste.  If you like terrible music, than you might like your own terrible compositions. 
Record it, listen to it later, and if you still like it, maybe run it past someone who could give a more critical opinion. There have been times where I've liked something I wrote, made a quick recording and found that it sounded like shit a few hours later. 
WHOMP

Think of that next time you are not allowed to laugh.
Good is relative. To many, "generic as fuck" equates to good. To some that is "bad" because they have heard it so much that it lacks individuality or anything other than rote-copywork. To others, who have also heard it a lot, it is good because it just works. Neither is wrong. Don't get caught up in this idea that there is some objective standard of goodness outside of technical accuracy, especially not in regards to popular appeal (this is a logical fallacy for a reason). To a noise musician, a dissonant and sloppy guitar progression might be a cool thing to bounce ideas off. In a blues standard that same progression will probably be an insult to god and man. And so on.

Make a note of your work, listen to/play it, and then leave it a few days. Try again, maybe mix it up. If you're still unsure, identify your audience and see what they reckon. It's always worth asking what kind of goodness it is you're trying to get at (technical? musical? experimental? meaningful?).

Generally, my mark of "is it good" is "does it give me the kinds of feelings that I get from work by other people that I call good?". At that point, you need to move on to learning to deal with ego
they're coming to take me away
ha-haaa
Last edited by Banjocal at Apr 13, 2017,