hope i'm posting this in the right place.
as title says, i'm in need of help in getting into the theory of music and scales. for years i've been an average guitarist but i feel like i should expand my knowledge. i tried looking things up but i'm a bit overwhelmed. how would you suggest me to tackle this sittuation? thanks for the help.
Music theory starts with definitions and terminology, constructing structures, then more structures (relationships between and among structures). It is critical to spend sufficient time and effort grasping the fundamentals clearly in order to understand the subsequent structures. One of the very first things one must do when approaching theory is to examine whether your informal use of a term is correct with respect to its definition. In common popular use, many of these terms are used informally and incorrectly, which makes a studied approach to theory confusing unless you clear them up right at the beginning.

For example, if one dives into music theory thinking that notes are pitches and that intervals are the distance between pitches, one encounters conceptually incomprehensible and impenetrable structures in a very short time...

- notes
The term "note" has a very specific meaning; it is the letter name given to the lines and spaces on the staff. These locations are notes, not pitches. The line or space may be accompanied by an accidental mark so that a particular note may stand for multiple pitches.

- intervals
Because of the above, the definition of interval ("the distance between notes") means intervals are the distance between spaces and lines of the staff, the distance between the letter names of notes. Since each space and line may take accidentals and attach multiple pitches, intervals are NOT the distance between pitches.

...this encounter has bounced a lot of people right back out of theory study. So, from the first steps, make sure you really really understand what each definition implies and entails.