So for my praise and worship (P&W) setup I am currently running a Traynor YCV40 - 40 watt 2 channel 1x12. My setup involves the clean channel with my pedalboard and various guitars.

I recently was offered a trade of my amp for a mint HD500X. I have no practical experience with a POD and was wondering if anyone could comment on the POD for a P&W setup.  I am happy with my current setup, but the trade offer got me interested in maybe changing things up. The main things that interest me in the POD are 1 - the direct out to the soundboard as stage volume can be an issue - 2 - ease of setup having basically one piece instead of several. 3- possibly freeing up some cash for other gear if I thin my pedals a bit. Another upside is that it could work as a backup metal rig if need be.

Give me your thoughts on the HD or keeping with my current amp.

Also if you recommend the POD give me your thoughts on a powered speaker vs a power amp and speaker cab.
guitarsngearPersonally I would not. You can find POD HD500's used for much less than your amp is fetching from what I see. Under $300 for the POD. The HD500 is a solid unit, however. IIRC Lincoln Brewster uses them for his live applications. It is one of the best/if not the best modeling multi-effects in its price range, especially when you consider the used market. About the cab: I'd use the internal cabinet models with a powered speaker.
Tube amps will always sound better than modelers even if you have to deal with the size, weight, and maintenance.
www.facebook.com/yourbadinfluence
I wouldn't do it either.
Dean Icon PZ
Line 6 Variax 700
Dean V-Wing
Dean ML 79 SilverBurst
MXR M 108
H2O Chorus/Echo
Valve Junior (V3 Head/Cab and Combo)
VHT Special 6
Phonic 620 Power Pod PA
Wampler Super Plextortion
Line 6 Pod HD
Quote by 8Len8
Tube amps will always sound better than modelers even if you have to deal with the size, weight, and maintenance.