im a complete noob sorry in advance, I have been playing guitar for a few months or so now and want a new guitar, or amp if you can convince me! I have been using a Peavey Vip2 And a Fender Standard HSH Strat  for my setup so far i also have a roland mk2 duo capture which is an interface thingo for PC but ive had trouble with it lately so ive kind of given up on using that. I understand im not going to get the exact tone i want from my budget but i just want a step in the right direction, Buy a guitar now, amp\pedals etc later or viceversa, The best i can explain the sound im looking for is with a video  

here is someone i follow on youtube, he does alot of metal versions of video game \movie\tv series covers which i also enjoy doing.

Other info-

No Used Guitars\Amps Etc
I Cannot try anything locally unfortunately
I only purchase stuff from andertons.co.uk
Not sure if relevant at all but im from australia.

All this said all advice is greatly appreciated as i am here to learn.

-------------
Budget is $830 USD (give or take a few bucks)
https://www.andertons.co.uk

conversion
640 UK
1100 AUD

-------------
Last edited by hellomyfrend at Apr 23, 2017,
For a noob what you have now is actually quite respectable,  Had it been a Squire and included Frontman amp then then yes I could see a problem and need for upgrade,  At this point I'd say your doing  just fine,   Although do find it a bit funny you've already developed a case of GAS before you've even really learned to play,   But don't get me wrong, I'd never talk someone out of buying new gear,  I just think in your case its not necessary,  Your amp is capable of many different sounds and the HSH Strat is one of the more versatile guitars out there,  In other words you have good tools, now its just a matter of learning to use them,  Once you master them then you can fine tune and buy more professional grade tools geared more to your individual craftwork,